gently adverb sentence

Questions 12-20: Make note of every adverb that you find in the following sentences. An adverb is a word or an expression that modifies a verb, adjective, determiner, clause, preposition or sentence. cheap → cheaper → cheapest. gently. Complete the sentence with either an adverb or an adjective. SURVEY . The back door closed loudly behind Mark. Gently is the adverb form of gentle.Some example sentences are:She gently picked up the kitten.The soldier gently disarms the bomb.He gently strokes her hair. Adverb can be defined as “A word or phrase that modifies the meaning of an adjective, verb, noun, determiner, or other adverb, expressing manner, place, time, or degree (e.g. furthest. Found inside – Page 197Just consider the following three correct sentences: I studied tirelessly all night. ... (Extremely is an adverb modifying the other adverb gently, ... Found inside – Page 147The friendly dolphin dove into the gentle waves and swam toward the colorful sunset. ... Complete It An adverb is missing from each sentence below. However, adverbs do not modify noun clause or noun phrase. ; You must follow my instructions carefully. In informal English some adverbs are used without -ly (e.g. 20 seconds . 1. The words you have circled are called adverbs. Found inside – Page 276In the case of a few short adverbs comparisons are made by adding -er and -est , as : fast faster fastest soonest nearer nearest soon sooner near Make sentences containing the above adverbs , using all three forms , as : John runs fast ; Tom ... less quickly least quickly gently more gently most gently gently less gently least gently proudly more proudly most proudly proudly less proudly least proudly wisely ... Hi, everyone. What is an Adverb? Found inside – Page 31of adverbial ( some adverbials have limited mobility ) – it may appear in three different positions in the sentence : at the beginning , in the middle or at ... A word or phrase that modifies or qualifies an adjective,